PRESS RELEASE: Kihnu - Pärnu Eesti Meedia leg of the A. Le Coq 60th Moonsund Regatta  | 13 Jul 17, piret.salmistu

Today’s racing conditions were near perfect again. Pleasant sunshine and 10 knots of wind, what more can your heart desire? Considering how rough the Roomassaare - Kihnu leg was for the sailors, the organisers planned the course of the next race so that it would take approximately four hours and 20 - 28 nautical miles respectively, depending on the size of yachts.

PRO Andres Talts reflected on the day: „As winds turned west we could not have the headwind start due to our positioning in relation to the island, and we had to resort to the quite unusual leeward start. The racing committee would like to extend their thanks to all sailors for leaving enough space for all competitors to hoist spinnakers on the starting line, which is much more complicated and dangerous than headwind start. All starts were good and there were no recalls.”


It’s worth mentioning that after today’s race all teams could discard their worst race score.


In the big boat group ORC I the fastest of the race was Sugar 2 with skipper Jaan Akermann from Pärnu Yacht Club. Eero Pank on Reval Cafè from Kalev Yacht Club was second and Johannes Puusepp’s team on Lady Bird third. The overall leader is Kalev Yacht Club’s team Forte, skippered by Jaak Jõgi.


In ORC II Evelyn III and Kristen Pugi, representing both Saaremaa Marine Sports Society and Kalev Yacht Club, were the fastest, followed by Jazz  and Juss Ojala, also from Kalev Yacht Club, and Adele with Aleksander Zolotov at the helm from Baltsail. The overall leader of the group is Kalev Yacht Club’s team Amserv Toyota Sailing Team skippered by Margus Źuravljov.


Kvartet and Vassilii Alexeev from Russia were victorious In ORC III, followed by two other Russian teams: Anatoly Shukanov on Fart and Leonid Chizhiku on Bamby, the overall leader being Fart.


The fastest in ESTLYS I group was Ain-Eke Jalasto’s team on Fanatic from Kalev Yacht Club. Sergey Ganichev from Russia steered Ariel to second place and Kristaps Remess from Latvia came in third on Lemans. The overall leader in this group is Katarina Jee from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skippered by Mart Tamm.


The first three in ESTLYS II were yacht Iti from Noblessner Yacht Club with Andrus Luht at the helm;  Sinjaja Ptica and Dmitrii Diakov from Russia and Elli and Margus Hiet from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society respectively. The overall leader after five races is Kalev Yacht Club’s Brigitta, skippered by Mikk Metstak.


This time ESTLYS III was dominated by Vindoga from Kalev Yacht Club under the leadership of Mikas Miniotas. Irisha and Aleksandrs Smertjevs from Latvia came in second and twice-victorious Margus Tasa on Mercurius from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society was third. The overall leader is Pille Kaas on Aurora from Haapsalu Yacht Club.


Folkboot group got its race winner by a mere second: the overall leader Lind (skipper Tiit Riisalo) from Kalev Yacht Club barely beat Bacchus (skipper Olev oolup) from Haapsalu Yacht Club. Ott Kolk and his team from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society on Castor were third.


All results




I Forte, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Jaak Jõgi - 6 p

II Olympic, Yacht Club Dago, skipper Tiit Vihul - 7 p

III Sugar 2, Pärnu Yacht Club, skipper Jaan Akermann -13 p




I Amserv Toyota ST, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Margus Zuravljov -10 p

II Jazz, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Juss Ojala – 12 p

III Cherie, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Ivar Aru -14 p




I Fart, St. Petersburg Yacht Club, skipper Vasilii Alexeev – 6 p

II Kvartet, St. Petersburg Yacht Club, skipper Anatoly Shukanov – 12 p

III Bamby, Russia, skipper Leonid Chizhik – 13 p




I Katarina Jee, Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skipper Mart Tamm – 11p

II Tessa, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Alar Ivanson – 12 p

III Le Mans, Latvia, skipper Kristaps Remess – 14 p




I Brigitta, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Mikk Mestak – 13 p

II Pinta, Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skipper Guido Grass – 16 p

III Liliya, Russia, skipper Dmitriy Galiuta – 10 p




I Aurora, Haapsalu Yacht Club, skipper Pille Kaas – 12 p

II Mercurius , Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skipper Margus Tasa – 17 p

III Meeri, Haapsalu Yacht Club, skipper Tiit Kaljuveer – 20 p




I Lind, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Tiit Riisalo – 6 p

II Tee Chee, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Peeter Välkmann – 17 p

III Bacchus, Haapsalu Yacht Club, skipper Olev Oolup – 14 p


The sunny evening at the Pärnu Yacht Club were entertained by Latvian blues and rock band Groupa Vocada and DJ Tom Liliental.


Tomorrow: Danske Bank Pärnu inshore race, available also online. Start for the first race will be given at 10.00 a.m.


The A. Le Coq Moonsund Regatta is organised by Kalev Yacht Club, Pärnu Yacht Club and Saaremaa Marine Sports Society in cooperation with the Estonian Yachting Union. The supporters of the Moonsund Regatta are: A. Le Coq, Postimees/Eesti Meedia, Helly Hansen/Sportland, DSV, Dermoshop, LoodusInvest, OlyBet,, Mount Gay, Danske Bank, COCO Active, Rahva Raamat, EAS, Euro Oil, Go Bus, Auto Forte, Haven Kakumäe, Estonian Maritime Rescue Organization, the cities of Haapsalu, Pärnu and Kuressaare, Kihnu Municipality, the Port of Riga.